Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Seward Public Schools

High School


Ajax Loading Image


Local Winners/District Finalists Seward VFW Oratorical “Voice of Democracy “Speech Contest

Story image 1_0

The local Winners/District Finalists Seward VFW Oratorical “Voice of Democracy “Speech Contest were announced at the recent PRIDE convocation at SHS in the new theater on Friday, Oct. 28th, 2016.  Winners were selected from the 121 written and taped audio presentations on the topic “My Responsibility to America!”  The annual VFW Voice of Democracy Speech Contest is sponsored locally by the Seward VFW Post 4755 and Auxiliary.  

Students were required to write and present, then tape a three to five minute Audio Presentation of the speech.  The students will receive cash prizes locally from the local VFW Post and one of every 15 entries will advance to the District Level.  Seward had 121 entries, so nine student essay/speeches will go on to the District level for more scholarship awards.

Locally, the essays were judged and the following were selected to be the top nine entries of the 121 entries.   Awardees included Andrew Pavel-First Place, Thomas Bosmeniel-Second Place, Evan Nottingham-Third Place, Chase Prochnow, Tiery Bearup, Sydney Erickson, Kenna Gottschalk, Nana Abenaa Wright, and Ryan Wall.

Judges were Julie Christensen of Bee, Rick Rocker and Jeff Brownson of UNL in Lincoln for the local awards.  The students were judged blind and entered in the contest only as a number on the tape!

Nine local winners all advance to the VFW District Contest in November, based on one entry per 15 students.  SHS had 121 entries in the local speech contest-all writing and taping their message for the contest!

Local Chairman Greg Holloway for the VFW!  Local speech coordinator at Seward High was SHS Speech Coach, Clark Kolterman.