Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Seward Public Schools

High School


Ajax Loading Image


SHS is Represented at ESU #6 2023 Annual High School Quiz Bowl

SHS had two teams represented in the annual ESU#6 Quiz Bowl March 29th at the Civic Center.  The team members included Lydia Lobmeyer, Sjoen Munk, Kretyn Roth, Ben Nottingham, Addilyn Sugden, Ainsley Hotovy, Kayla Albright, Elianah Wunderlich, Maddelyn Larson, Emma Matulka.  They are coached by SHS teacher Melissa Pohl of Seward.

The annual ESU #6 High School Academic Quiz Bowl General Knowledge Quiz Bowl for High Schools in the ESU #6 area was held in Seward at the Seward Civic Center on Wednesday, March 29th at the Seward Civic Center. The event featured a Round Robin Tourney in the morning, where the teams played each other to determine seeding for the afternoon single elimination tourney.  Each team played three or more rounds in the morning and were placed in the afternoon tourney based on wins and losses, points generated and high team score.

The top two teams were invited to represent the ESU #6 at the State Tourney at the end of April.  The top two teams that will represent the ESU #6 tied with their total scores and both will advance to the State Contest. State Quiz Bowl representatives for ESU #6 are Norris Team A from Firth and Nebraska Lutheran at Waco Team A.

The teams were divided into three divisions, Division I (Large), Division II (Medium) and Division III (Small).  Each division winner and first runner-up received a trophy and individual medals. 

Winners included…

Division I (Large School)

First Place – Norris High Team A, coached by Rebecca Pair, Second Place –York A, coached by Sam Due, Third Place-Waverly Team A, coached by David Hartman, Fourth Place-Norris Team B, coached by Rebecca Pair.


Division II (Medium School)

First Place-Milford High-Team A, coached by Jacob Leuenberger , Second Place-Malcolm B coached by Troy Pritchett, Third Place-Malcolm A, coached by Troy Pritchett, and Fourth Place-- Fillmore Central High Team A, coached by Ryan Komenda . 


Division II (Small School)

First Place – Nebraska Lutheran of Waco-Team A, coached by Hannah Zabel,  Second Place – Exeter/Milligan High Team A, coached by Jordan Marr, Third Place-Friend Team A, coached by Lori Klooz and Fourth Place McColl Junction Team A, coached by Jabe Wurtz.


The Quiz Bowl Master was Riley Nuttleman of Seward, with ESU #6 representative/coordinator, Sydney Bristol, and Clark Kolterman of Seward assisting with the arrangements.  Readers/judges for the day included Pat Ohlmann, Sue Imig, Bonnie Kruse all of Seward, Kathy Wilcox of Crete and Jenni Erhart of Osceola and Melissa Pohl of Utica.