Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Seward Public Schools

High School


Ajax Loading Image


Seward High Captures 2022 State Fair High School Sweepstake Trophy in Education Division Competition

It is the seventh time in a row that Seward High captured the Nebraska State Fair Education Division Competition High School Sweepstakes trophy, based on number of entries in the fair’s education competitions-both static and live contests and placement of the students-the number of wins in that division.  Accepting the Sweepstakes trophy were the SHS Coaches/Sponsors for the school’s State Fair competitions-SHS teachers Melissa Pohl-Language Arts and Nathan Knott-Art.  Shelby- Rising City High School placed second and Lincoln Public Schools placed third in the Education Division’s annual State Fair Education Division Competition. The 2022 Sweepstake trophy will officially be presented to the students and then placed on display at Seward High.  

The SHS students competed in a variety of contests-both” live”-in person contests such as Quiz Bowl, testing in Science, Math, Nebraska History, Spelling, and Grammar, along with Impromptu Speaking, Improvisation Drama Teams, Poetry Presentations and Speech.  The static contests included art, visual-wall art and three dimensional, photography, Community Service-both individual and group, along with writing contests such as short story contests, cursive penmanship, poetry, and essay writing. 

Four items from Seward High were selected to be on display at the State Capitol during the Statehood Day Festivities in March 1, 2022, featuring the First Place winning 

Each high school student that entered the competition was awarded a free tee shirt and a free ticket to the State Fair.  First place winners were awarded $100 scholarships upon High School graduation, a plaque and First Place Rosette.  

First Place Winners in the Nebraska State Fair Education Division included: Noah Fields-Poetry-First, Julya Metschke- Impromptu Speaking-First, Drew Kratchovil-Art-First, Sophie Russell-Cup Stacking-First, Julya Metschke-Public Speaking-First, Evie Theobald, Kayla Albright, Maddy Larson, ava Schlecta-Quiz Bowl-First, Landen Ford-Social Studies-First, Marisia Schmeckpeper, Abigayil Wunderlich, Julya Metschke-Improv Team-First.  

A complete list of all the results will follow at the conclusion of the State Fair upon the posting of the winners, naming the award winners.  

Winners included: Language Arts-Poetry: Noah Fields-First, Hector Sanchez-Fourth, Koston Schaefer-Fifth, Jack Schulz-Sixth, Haeven Hendrix-Eighth, Nathan Shafer-Ninth, Madison Sides-Tenth.  Language Arts-Short Story: Natalie Wintz-Second, Ben Nottingham-Seventh, Addison Rohde-Eighth, Joshua Anderson-Tenth.  Language Arts-Essay: Natalie Wintz-Third, Carissa Mines-Sixth, Holly Venetis-Tenth.  Nebraska Art: Drew Kratchovil-First, Rylyn Luebbe-Fourth.  Community Service-Individual: Julya Metschke-Third, Community Service-Group: SHS Future Business Leaders of America Chapter (FBLA)-Fourth Place.  In Wall Art: Katie Rasmussen-4th, Drew Kratovil-8th. High School Photography: Miles Nolan-6th.  Cup Stacking: Sophie Russell-First, Julya Metschke-Forth.  Outstanding Speaker: Julya Metschke, Poetry Recitation: Elianah Wunderlich-Third.  Quiz Bowl: First-Evie Theobald, Kayla Albright, Maddy Larson, Ava Schlecta,  Second Place-Sjoen Muck, Leianah Wunderslich, Nathan Roebke, Liam Krahulik. Improv Team: Marisia Schmeckpeper, Abigayil Wunderlich, Julya Metschke-First Place.  Impromtu Speaking: Juyla Metschke-First, Abigayil Wunderlich, Third. Social Studies: Landen Ford-First, Noah Fields-Fifth, Natalie Axt-Seventh, Ben Nottingham-Ninth, Austin Schroeder-Tenth.   Math: Ben Nottingham-Fourth, Dominic Artigas-Sixth, Ansley Hotovy-Tenth.  Science: Dominic Artigas-8th, Ben Nottingham-Tenth.  Grammar: Elianah  Wunderlich-Fourth, Lydia Lobmeyer-Fifth, Noah Fields-Sixth, Ben Nottingham-Seventh, Austin Schroeder-Tenth.  Spelling: Noah Fields-Third, Landen Ford-Fifth, Austin Schroeder-Sixth.  Note: There were numerous Honorable Mentions from Seward High in many categories as well.   

The top three places (First, Second and Third) in each category won a cash scholarship, a plaque and a rosette.  The top ten all won special Rosettes celebrating the Nebraska State Fair. 

A complete listing of the awards can soon be found at the Nebraska State Fair website: statefair.org under Education Division-Results.  

Photo: SHS Places First in State Fair Quiz Bowl-Front-Evie Theobold, L-R Maddy Larson, Kayla Albright, Ava Schlecta.