Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Seward Public Schools

High School


Ajax Loading Image


Seward High Successfully Competes at Nebraska State Fair Education Division Competition

Students from Seward High competed in the recent Education Division competitions at the 2021 Nebraska State Fair on Saturday and Sunday - August 28 and August 29, 2021, in the Bosselman Conference Center and Fonner Park Pavilion on the State Fair Grounds. 


In the high school division receiving first place in art were Kalen Knott in pen and ink and Kaitlyn Porter in watercolor; first place in 3-D art was Jaxson Bierman; first place in photography was Olivia Volzke; first place in short stories was Jeanna Snyder; first place in freshman quiz bowl were SHS freshmen Dalton Mobley, Benjamin Nottingham and Abigayil Wunderlich; first place in improv were Natalie Axt, Elianah Wunderlich, and Julya Metschke; first place in impromptu speaking was Julya Metschke; first place in the team division for community service project were Hannah Kolterman-Wagner and Miriam Voehl for their “Environmental Awareness” FCCLA STAR Project, and first place in individual community service was Julya Metschke for her “Helping the Homeless” FCCLA Star Project.

Julya Metschke was also presented the annual Brad Fossberg award and trophy for her outstanding verbal stage presentation at the Nebraska State Fair.  The award honors the late Brad Fossberg, who served as a key judge for the stage presentations for the education division of the Nebraska State Fair for years.  

SHS educators Melissa Pohl and Nathan Knott prepared the entries for the competitions.  Melissa Pohl was the volunteer faculty sponsor for both August 28 and 29 and served as a quiz bowl reader, along with community volunteer Dr. Louis Reith of Seward.

The entries and winning presentations are on display at the Nebraska State Fair through Labor Day and are located at the Grandstand at Fonner Park building on the State Fairgrounds.  

Each student who entered the competition was awarded a free tee-shirt and a free ticket to the State Fair.  First-place winners were awarded $100 scholarships upon high school graduation, a plaque and a first-place rosette.  

A complete list naming other award winners will follow at the conclusion of the Nebraska State Fair.

Photo one: Julya Metschke-Winner of the Brad Fossberg Award at the NE State Fair Education Division.

Photo two: First place winners in freshman QB contest - SHS freshman quiz bowl team: Dalton Mobley, Benjamin Nottingham and Abigayil Wunderlich.